The Other Me…

As this blog is about my life as a small business owner as well as about learning and what’s happening at Littlesheep Learning I thought I should share what else I do in my spare time as running my own business is one of the things that gives me the flexibility to work round my other interests.

Last week was Volunteers Week – an annual campaign which celebrates the fantastic contribution that millions of volunteers make across the UK and some of my volunteering was featured on this blog about how BritMum bloggers volunteer.

On Tuesday evening we had the NCT Star Awards presentation West Midlands regional final and I was one of the shortlisted volunteers for the Most Supportive Volunteer Award.

My nomination said…

“Elaine has been involved with the NCT for many years, initially as part of the Coventry branch and more recently taking on the voluntary role of the West Midlands Regional Coordinator. She works tirelessly in this role and gives tremendous support to all of the branches within the region. She is always quick to champion NCT, the work it does nationally and the importance of the local branches in supporting new parents.

Elaine was a founder member of Southam and Villages Branch last year.  She formed solid links with the local Children’s Centre and local Healthcare Professionals, whilst steadily building up a steady stream of willing volunteers. She is encouraging and supportive especially with new members and is always willing to spend time working with other volunteers in their various roles.  Elaine put together a grant application which enabled Southam to train a local team of Breastfeeding Peer Supporters, of which she is one, to run a weekly breastfeeding café.  Elaine has also inspired others to establish a local Bumps and Babies Group and regular Nearly New Sales.

Somehow she manages all this as well as being the editor of the branch Newsletter, running her own business and bringing up 3 young children. She is an absolute star and someone that the NCT would struggle without!”

As Regional Coordinator ordinarily I would have been informed of the winners in my region ahead of the presentation but as I was on the shortlist it was kept a secret from me so when I was told at the ceremony that I had won it was just as much as a surpise for me as all the other winners.

I now am invited to the awards ceremony at the House of Lords in October for the national final where NCT will celebrate all of the volunteers from across the UK.

2 thoughts on “The Other Me…

Leave a Reply

