Review: Arc Touch Mouse

As regular readers of this blog will know I am one of the finalists in the Mad Blog Awards Best Small Business Blog category which is sponsored by Anywhere Working.

As a result they contacted me and asked me if I wanted to try the Mircrosoft Arc Touch mouse which is billed as a revolutionary mouse that can work on any surface and is easy to take with you on your travels – so I said I’d have a go…

The first surprise is that when you open the box it isn’t curved it is flat which means that it would be very easy to slip it into a bag with a laptop if you are a laptop user who doesn’t like the touch pad (this doesn’t apply to me but it’s definitely a good idea).

It is very easy to get started – the tiny receiver slots into a USB port and the mouse arches it’s back and you are ready to go. The receiver sticks to the underside of the mouse using fairly strong magnets for when you are travelling with it so it shouldn’t get lost.

I use a desktop computer and have previously used a wireless mouse so this part isn’t new to me but one thing I have noticed how is how quickly the batteries on my usual mouse run out so that will be an interesting thing to compare. The Arc Touch uses AAA batteries rather than AA (must make sure I get some spares in as we tend to buy AA batteries in bulk for children’s toys / Wii remotes etc) which helps to make it lighter and thinner than a standard mouse. Unlike my current mouse which doesn’t appear to have an off switch this one turns off when you make it flat – so assuming I remember to do this then hopefully the battery life will be significantly better.

So using the mouse – to start with I have to admit I didn’t like it much but it’s growing on me…

I do a lot of internet browsing and scrolling and my mouse before had a scrolling wheel which made it easy to whizz up and down a page but the scrolling pad on the Arc Touch mouse took a little bit of getting used to (it was easier once I’d read the instructions) but I think I’ve now got the hang of it and am finding it nice and smooth. Similarly the mouse is a slightly different shape as it is hollow underneath as you hold it which initially felt awkward but as I’ve continued to use it I think I am getting used to it. As for working on every surface – it definitely does that (I’ve just tested it).

Overall I don’t think I’d go out and buy this mouse but this is mostly prejudice that it looks different so I probably wouldn’t consider it, I also had a mouse that was working well so wasn’t really looking for a new one. Now I have it though I certainly intend to keep using it and I’m sure over time it will continue to feel more comfy. I’m also considering buying a laptop to be able to work more flexibly and I definitely think that this would be an ideal mouse to have as a companion especially for travelling as it is so compact.

This product was provided to me free of charge by Anywhere Working in order to review it. However the opinions expressed in this review are independent and my own.

Leave a Reply

