The MAD night…

So Friday night was the day that the MADS Award Ceremony finally arrived… I set of for London with a mix of excitement and nerves and plenty of spare time (I got a train at lunchtime despite not needing to be there until 6.45pm!).

My journey was pretty uneventful (except for having my photograph taken on the underground being hugged by a random stranger who was part of a team doing a monopoly challenge) and after a slight detour caused by walking past the hotel I arrived and met up with Kate (fromThe Five Fs) and we found our room, chilled out (and gossiped) for a few hours and then got dressed ready for dinner (as I mentioned before my dress was very kindly lent to me by Sérephine who make some gorgeous maternity wear).

As we arrived in the hotel foyer for the reception there were seemingly hundreds of women all dressed in posh frocks and all talking excitedly with each other and it quickly became apparent that I had a task ahead trying to remember and match up people’s real names / twitter IDs and blogs – something I accept I’m not very good at.

Everyone seemed to know Kate (and she seemed to know everyone else as she kept introducing people to me!) and she was whisked off and I bumped into fellow Small Business Bloggers from KiddyCharts and Bizzy Mum and made our way through the check that our name was on the list and onto the drinks reception and had our photos taken on the sofa before being called through to dinner.

At this point we had to peruse the table plan and the rumours were confirmed that yes Mylene Klass was actually going to be there (sadly I didn’t get to speak to her but I’ve heard that she is very nice). I was on Table 3 with A Mothers Ramblings, Glowstars, The Mummy Adventure, Makeshift Mummy, The White Approach and Relentless Laundry, plus two PR people who were giving away a Nexus tablet in the course of the evening…  (Actually Mummy was also meant to be on our table too but she was on two tables and obviously preferred the look of the other one but she did come and say hello!).

So we settled down for our posh dinner – others will have described it much better than me because I had a ‘special dietary requirements meal’ being gluten and dairy free – I had soup, followed by a variant of the chicken, and then poached pear which was very yummy. There was also lots of wine available most of which went undrunk on our table given the number of pregnant /non-drinking bloggers! Whilst all this was going on there were big screens showing the Twitter stream live (#MadBlogAwards) and it was very exciting to hear that the hash tag was trending world wide!

Then came the awards… the Small Business category was amongst the last to be announced and I was up against some strong competition – Bizzy Mum, Coombe Mill, KiddyCharts and Mummy Whisperer.

Sadly I didn’t win but as I predicted Fiona from Coombe Mill won the trophy but with over 100,000 votes and 3000 blogs nominated I was very proud to have reached the the final five in my category.

So the winning blogs:

Lots of fantastic blogs to read there and if you want to read more accounts of the fantastic evening don’t forget to check out the linky.

And as the evening ended we were provided with very stuffed goody bags…

I was provided with this dress for the night of the awards and was given a free meal – however, all the opinions are own. Thank you to Sérephine, all the award sponsors, everyone who contributed to teh goody bags, Sally Whittle and everyone who works with her on the Mad Blog Awards for sorting this for me and for organising the evening.

6 thoughts on “The MAD night…

  1. Loved your dress and it was great to meet you, Elaine! Love the goody bag pic- I totally forgot to mention that!

    Like

  2. You were a delight to meet and beamed all evening, I can only imagine how big that smile could have become if you had been able to enjoy a few drinks as well! I was honored to be up against you and we really are all winners getting to the finals so well done.

    Like

  3. Congratulations on your big day! I also blogged about my trip to the Mumpreneur 2012 Awards recently (Book of You was shortlisted for Best New Product). Great fun these events, aren’t they?

    Like

Leave a Reply

